Fluid Matter

Fluid Matter

Liquid and Life in Motion

A dance of humans and viruses to the tune of evolution, a compass needle made of iron extracted from placentas and 3D printed materials inspired by the development of human organs.

Fluid Matter presents the winning projects of the Bio Art and Design Award 2016, developed in collaboration with leading Dutch researchers in the life sciences, alongside several recent works that share a dimension of fluidity. The works will reflect on, demonstrate, or even contest advances in life sciences research. They will also probe fluidity in the realms of inter-species exchange, personal identity, metabolic processes, and even in the exchange between our bodies and our oceans.

Life’s processes abound with continuous exchanges and are often embodied in liquid form, flowing throughout complex and microscopic environments; yet, these phenomena often escape perception. It takes the intervention of artists and designers to bring them into the realm of the observable, lend them meaning, highlight their beauty, or find their material potential at different scales. 

Read the essay 'Aeon Flux' by William Myers here.

Where MU
When 2 December 2016 - 26 February 2017
Fluid Matter Special Wednesday January 18 2017, check the programme here.

Participating artists:

Thijs Biersteker (NL)
Michael Burton and Michiko Nitta (UK)
Inés Cámara Leret (UK)
Lilian van Daal & Roos Meerman (NL) BAD Award winner
Teresa van Dongen (NL)
Xandra van der Eijk (NL)
Cecilia Jonsson (NO) BAD Award winner
Pei-Ying Lin (TW) BAD Award winner
Ana María Gómez López (CO/US)
Mari Ohno (JP)
Tarah Rhoda (US)

Fluid Matter is curated by Angelique Spaninks (MU) and William Myers (Jury Chairman Bio Art and Design Awards).

About the BAD Award:

Since 2014, the BAD (Bio Art & Design) Award exhibition, featuring the three winners of the BAD Awards of that year, is on show at MU. The BAD Award is a unique competition that aims at stimulating young artists and designers from The Netherlands and abroad to experiment with bioart and design and to collaborate with renowned Dutch science centers.

This year’s award winners are Pei-Ying Lin who collaborated with Miranda de Graaf of the Erasmus MC Viroscience Lab on ‘Tame is to Tame’; Cecilia Jonsson who created ‘Haem’ in collaboration with Rodrigo Leite de Oliveira of The Netherlands Cancer Institute / Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Hospital (NKI); and Lilian van Daal & Roos Meerman who developed ‘Dynamorphosis - The beauty of inner mechanisms’ together with Renée van Amerongen of the Swammerdam Institute for Life Sciences of the University of Amsterdam.

The BAD Award is a product of a collaboration between NWO (Dutch Research Council – Earth and Life Sciences, Humanities, The Hague), ZonMW (Medical Research Council, The Hague), MU (Eindhoven), Waag Society (Amsterdam), Eindhoven University of Technology (Eindhoven) and BioArt Laboratories (Eindhoven).


Photo's by Hanneke Wetzer. Artists from top to bottom: Lilian van Daal en Roos Meerman, Tarah Rhoda, Inés Cámara Leret, Xandra van der Eijk, Cecilia Jonsson, Pei-Ying Lin.